Rockingham County Board of Commissioners Historical Minutes

Rockingham County Board of Commissioners Historical Minutes

Rockingham County was home to New Hampshire’s first European settlements, Pannaway and Strawbery Banke (Portsmouth). In 1623, only three years after the landing of the pilgrims in Plymouth, Massachusetts, David Thomson first settled New Hampshire at Odiorne Point in what is now known as the Town of Rye. By the mid 1600s, the county included three of the four original New Hampshire towns and was the center for business, trade and government for the entire state. The state capital was located in Portsmouth first, then later moved to Exeter and other towns. In 1808 the capital finally settled to its current location in Concord.

Commissioners Meeting Minutes from 1940

Commissioners Meeting Minutes from 1940

Rockingham County was eventually organized in 1769 and incorporated in 1771 as one of the five original counties and named for Charles Weston Wentworth, Second Marquis of Rockingham. Rockingham County is located in the southeastern portion of the state and contains all 18 miles of New Hampshire’s coastline. The county is bordered by Maine to the northeast and Massachusetts to the south. The overall land mass is 699 square miles with a population of nearly 300,000 (www.nh.gov/oep). The largest towns in Rockingham County are both in the western part of the county; Derry with an approximate population of 36,500 and Salem with an approximate population of 30,000. Businesses and industry most popular in the county include construction, electric, gas and sanitation services, retail trade, services and manufacturing.

Rockingham County includes the following city and towns:
(please click on town/city for website)

Atkinson Hampstead Nottingham
Auburn Hampton Plaistow
Brentwood Hampton Falls Portsmouth
Candia Kensington Raymond
Chester Kingston Rye
Danville Londonderry Salem
Deerfield New Castle Sandown
Derry Newfields Seabrook
East Kingston Newington South Hampton
Epping Newmarket Stratham
Exeter Newton Windham
Fremont North Hampton
Greenland Northwood

County Complex History

1916 Rockingham County Complex

Fernald Building Dedication (includes information about other buildings and history about the complex/buildings)

Blaisdell Building (drawing and dedication)

Ernest P. Barka Assisted Living Facility (dedications)

Comments are closed.